Baseball: The Turbulent Midcentury Years, by Steven P. Gietschier

Steve Gietschier’s ‘Baseball: The Turbulent Midcentury Years’ wins 2024 SABR Seymour Medal

Baseball: The Turbulent Midcentury Years, by Steven P. GietschierBaseball: The Turbulent Midcentury Years, written by Steven P. Gietschier and published by University of Nebraska Press, is the winner of the 2024 Dr. Harold and Dorothy Seymour Medal, which honors the best book of baseball history or biography published during the preceding calendar year.

Gietschier will receive his award during the 31st annual NINE Spring Training Conference on Saturday, March 9, 2024, in Tempe, Arizona. To learn more about the NINE conference, visit

The Seymour Medal Selection Committee of Lisa Alexander (chair), Elena Elms, and R.J. Lesch released the following statement:

The level of research Steve Gietschier put into this book had Seymour Medal written all over it. The writing was excellent.

Gietschier, a 2023 recipient of the Henry Chadwick Award, spent 22 years at The Sporting News, serving as the editor for many of their annual publications and developing The Sporting News Research Center into an important destination for baseball researchers. He has written or edited many baseball history articles and taught courses on American sport and baseball.

The runner-up for the 2024 Seymour Medal was:

  • Daybreak at Chavez Ravine: Fernandomania and the Remaking of the Los Angeles Dodgers, by Erik Sherman (University of Nebraska Press)

The Seymour Medal, named in honor of Dr. Harold Seymour and Mrs. Dorothy (Seymour) Mills, was first awarded by SABR in 1996. To be considered for the medal, a work must be the product of original research or analysis. The winning book shall significantly advance our knowledge of baseball and shall be characterized by understanding, factual accuracy, profound insight and distinguished writing.

To see a list of previous Seymour Medal winners, click here.

Originally published: February 12, 2024. Last Updated: February 12, 2024.