Zinn and Zinn’s “Ebbets Field” wins 2014 Ron Gabriel Award

SABR is pleased to announce that Ebbets Field: Essays and Memories of Brooklyn’s Historic Ballpark, 1913-1960, edited by John G. Zinn and Paul G. Zinn and published by McFarland & Co., has been selected as the winner of the Ron Gabriel Award in 2014.

John G. Zinn is the chairman of the board of the New Jersey Historical Society. A SABR member since 1996, he lives in Verona, New Jersey. His blog on early baseball in New Jersey can be found at amanlypastime.blogspot.com.

Paul G. Zinn is a sales manager for a virtual communications software company and was a sportswriter at three daily newspapers. He lives in Acton, Massachusetts.

The winners will be honored at the SABR 44 convention, July 30-August 3, 2014, in Houston, Texas. Click here to register!

Ebbets Field is part of McFarland’s series on Historic Ballparks; the series editors are SABR members David Cicotello and Angelo J. Louisa. Essays in Ebbets Field were also contributed by Ellen M. Snyder-Grenier, James Overmyer, and Ronald M. Selter. 

The Ron Gabriel Award annually honors the author(s) of the best research, published or unpublished, on the subject of the Brooklyn Dodgers completed during the preceding calendar year. Eligible works include but are not limited to magazine and journal articles, previously unpublished chapters or articles in anthologies or other books with multiple authors, unpublished research papers, written versions of oral presentations, books, databases and websites.

Ron Gabriel (1941-2009), a native of Brooklyn, New York, and longtime resident of Bethesda, Maryland, was a former Vice President of SABR and instrumental in establishing the Bob Davids Chapter, which serves the Washington-Baltimore region. He was founder and president of the Brooklyn Dodger Fan Club, and a charter elected member of the Brooklyn Dodger Hall of Fame. Gabriel, who earned his Ph.D. in Human Resource Management from American University, was a retired U.S. Government executive, having served with the Postal Service Management Institute, the Department of Defense and the General Services Administration.

For a list of past award winners, click here.

Originally published: April 22, 2014. Last Updated: April 22, 2014.