2015 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners announced

For the third consecutive season, the SABR Defensive Index™ was used to help select the winners of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award and Rawlings Platinum Glove Award™, presented by SABR. The SABR Defensive Index accounts for approximately 25 percent of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award selection process that was added to the votes from the managers and coaches.

The 2015 Gold Glove winners were announced on ESPN2’s “Baseball Tonight” on Tuesday, November 10.

Click here to view the final SDI rankings for the 2015 season

Here are the winners of the 2015 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards, announced Tuesday night:

Position AL winner Team Award     NL winner Team Award
P Dallas Keuchel HOU 2nd     Zack Greinke LAD 2nd
C Salvador Perez KCR 3rd     Yadier Molina STL 8th
1B Eric Hosmer KCR 3rd     Paul Goldschmidt ARI 2nd
2B Jose Altuve HOU 1st     Dee Gordon MIA 1st
SS Alcides Escobar KCR 1st     Brandon Crawford SFG 1st
3B Manny Machado BAL 2nd     Nolan Arenado COL 3rd
LF Yoenis Cespedes DET 1st     Starling Marte PIT 1st
CF Kevin Kiermaier TBR 1st     A.J. Pollock ARI 1st
RF Kole Calhoun LAA 1st     Jason Heyward STL 3rd


The SDI is compiled by the SABR Defensive Committee, which includes SABR President Vince Gennaro, Sean Forman of Baseball-Reference.com, Ben Jedlovec of Baseball Info Solutions, SABR Director F.X. Flinn, author and defensive metrics expert Chris Dial, and author Michael Humphreys.

The SABR Defensive Index draws on and aggregates two types of existing defensive metrics: those derived from batted ball location-based data and those collected from play-by-play accounts. The three metrics representing batted ball data include Defensive Runs Saved from Baseball Info Solutions, Ultimate Zone Rating developed by noted sabermetrician Mitchel Lichtman, and Runs Effectively Defended based on STATS Zone Rating and built by SABR Defensive Committee member Chris Dial. The two metrics included in the SDI originating from play-by-play data are Defensive Regression Analysis, created by committee member Michael Humphreys, and Total Zone Rating.

Learn more about the SABR Defensive Index and view updated rankings at SABR.org/SDI.


Vote for Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners:

In 2011, Rawlings introduced the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award to honor the best defender in each League among the Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners in each season.

The SDI’s ability to accurately compare players from different positions will help determine the updated Rawlings Platinum Glove Award, presented by SABR. Fans will continue to have a voice during this process, and can cast their vote for the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners.

St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina and Kansas City left fielder Alex Gordon won their respective league’s Rawlings Platinum Glove Award last season.


Related links:

Originally published: November 10, 2015. Last Updated: November 10, 2015.