2019 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners announced

For the seventh consecutive season, the SABR Defensive Index™ was used to help select the winners of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award and Rawlings Platinum Glove Award™, presented by SABR. The SABR Defensive Index accounts for approximately 25 percent of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award selection process that was added to the votes from the managers and coaches.

The 2019 Gold Glove winners were announced on ESPN's "Baseball Tonight" on Sunday, November 3.

Click here to view the final SDI rankings for the 2019 season. 

Here are the winners of the 2019 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards, announced Sunday night:

Position AL winner Team Award     NL winner Team Award
P Mike Leake
SEA 1st
    Zack Greinke
ARI 6th
C Roberto Pérez
CLE 1st     J.T. Realmuto PHI 1st
1B Matt Olson
OAK 2nd     Anthony Rizzo
CHC 3rd
2B Yolmer Sánchez
CHW 1st     Kolten Wong
STL 1st
SS Francisco Lindor
CLE 2nd     Nick Ahmed
ARI 2nd
3B Matt Chapman
OAK 2nd
    Nolan Arenado COL 7th
LF Alex Gordon
KCR 7th
    David Peralta
CF Kevin Kiermaier
    Lorenzo Cain
MIL 1st
RF Mookie Betts
BOS 4th     Cody Bellinger
LAD 1st


The SDI is compiled by the SABR Defensive Committee, which includes former SABR Board President Vince Gennaro; Sean Forman of Baseball-Reference.com; Ben Jedlovec, MLB's Director of Engineering, Data Quality; SABR Director F.X. Flinn; author and defensive metrics expert Chris Dial; and author Michael Humphreys.

The SABR Defensive Index draws on and aggregates two types of existing defensive metrics: those derived from batted ball location-based data and those collected from play-by-play accounts. The three metrics representing batted ball data include Defensive Runs Saved from Baseball Info Solutions, Ultimate Zone Rating developed by noted sabermetrician Mitchel Lichtman, and Runs Effectively Defended based on STATS Zone Rating and built by SABR Defensive Committee member Chris Dial. The two metrics included in the SDI originating from play-by-play data are Defensive Regression Analysis, created by committee member Michael Humphreys, and Total Zone Rating.

Learn more about the SABR Defensive Index and view updated rankings at SABR.org/SDI.


Vote for Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners:

In 2011, Rawlings introduced the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award to honor the best defender in each League among the Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners in each season.

The SDI’s ability to accurately compare players from different positions will help determine the updated Rawlings Platinum Glove Award, presented by SABR. Fans continue to have a voice during this process, and can cast their vote for the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners.

Oakland third baseman Matt Chapman and Colorado third baseman Nolan Arenado won their respective league’s Rawlings Platinum Glove Award last season.


This page was last updated November 3, 2019 at 5:54 pm MST.