2023 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners announced

Beginning in 2013, the SABR Defensive Index™ has been used to help select the winners of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award and Rawlings Platinum Glove Award™, presented by SABR. The SABR Defensive Index accounts for approximately 25 percent of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award selection process which are added to the votes from the managers and coaches.

The 2023 Gold Glove winners were announced on ESPN’s “Baseball Tonight” on Sunday, November 5.

Here are the winners of the 2023 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards, announced Sunday night:

Position AL winner Team Award     NL winner Team Award
P José Berríos TOR 1st     Zack Wheeler PHI 1st
C Jonah Heim TEX 1st     Gabriel Moreno ARI 1st
1B Nathaniel Lowe TEX 1st     Christian Walker ARI 2nd
2B Andrés Giménez CLE 2nd     Nico Hoerner CHC 1st
SS Anthony Volpe NYY 1st     Dansby Swanson CHC 2nd
3B Matt Chapman TOR 4th     Ke’Bryan Hayes PIT 1st
LF Steven Kwan CLE 2nd     Ian Happ CHC 2nd
CF Kevin Kiermaier TOR 4th     Brenton Doyle COL 1st
RF Adolis García TEX 1st     Fernando Tatis Jr. SDP 1st
Utility Mauricio Dubón HOU 1st     Ha-Seong Kim SDP 1st


The SDI is compiled by the SABR Defensive Committee, which includes former SABR Board President Vince Gennaro; Sean Forman of Baseball-Reference.com; Mark Simon of Sports Info Solutions; Ben Jedlovec, MLB’s Senior Director, Baseball Data Platform Product; former SABR Director F.X. Flinn; author and defensive metrics expert Chris Dial; and author Michael Humphreys.

“The Society for American Baseball Research is thrilled to see award voters and defensive metrics continue to further align about the identity of the game’s best defensive athletes,” said Scott Bush, chief executive officer for SABR. “We’re proud to play a role in the naming of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners and offer our congratulations to all 20 recipients this year.”

Learn more about the SABR Defensive Index and view updated rankings at SABR.org/SDI.

Vote for Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners

In 2011, Rawlings introduced the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award to honor the best defender in each League among the Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners in each season.

The SDI’s ability to accurately compare players from different positions will help determine the updated Rawlings Platinum Glove Award, presented by SABR. Fans continue to have a voice during this process, and can cast their vote for the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners.

New York Yankees catcher Jose Trevino and St. Louis Cardinals third baseman Nolan Arenado won their respective league’s Rawlings Platinum Glove Award last season.

Originally published: November 5, 2023. Last Updated: November 5, 2023.