Keurajian, Krabbenhoft, “Baseball Pioneers” win 2013 SABR Baseball Research Awards

The 2013 SABR Baseball Research Awards, which honor outstanding research projects completed during the preceding calendar year which have significantly expanded our knowledge or understanding of baseball, have been awarded to:

The authors will receive their awards at the SABR 43 national convention, July 31-August 4, 2013, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Keurajian is a commercial banker and attorney who has written numerous studies on baseball and vintage golf autographs. He lives in Rochester Hills, Michigan.

Krabbenhoft, a SABR member since 1981, is a retired research chemist. His baseball research has focused on ultimate grand slam home runs, leadoff batters, triple plays, the uniform numbers of Detroit Tigers, and most recently, consecutive games streaks for scoring runs and batting in runs. He lives in Pleasanton, California.

Peter Morris is a two-time winner of the Seymour Medal for best baseball book of the year and was an inaugural winner of the Henry Chadwick Award for lifetime achievement in baseball research. He lives in Haslett, Michigan. William J. Ryczek is a banking executive in Wallingford, Connecticut, who writes about early baseball, football, the Yankees, and the Mets. Jan Finkel, a retired English professor, serves as chief editor of the SABR Biography Project. He lives in Swanton, Maryland. Len Levin, a retired newspaper editor, is a SABR member and twice a national officer of the society. He lives in Providence, Rhode Island. Richard Malatzky has worked with Bill Haber through SABR’s Biographical Committee researching missing players. He lives in the Bronx, New York.

The SABR Baseball Research Award, formerly known as the Sporting News-SABR Baseball Research Award, is designed to honor projects that do not fit the criteria for the Seymour Medal or the McFarland-SABR Baseball Research Award.

The selection committee consists of: Steve Gietschier (non-voting chair), Andrew Goldblatt, Marlene Vogelsang and Bill Felber.

To see a complete list of SABR Baseball Research Award winners, click here.

Originally published: April 23, 2013. Last Updated: April 23, 2013.