SABR Defensive Index rankings released through August 18, 2019

AUGUST 23, 2019 — Arizona shortstop Nick Ahmed and Oakland third baseman Matt Chapman remain in the top spots in their respective leagues in the most recent SABR Defensive Index rankings.

Click here to view full SDI rankings by position through games of Sunday, August 18, 2019.

For the seventh consecutive season, the SABR Defensive Index will be used to help select the winners of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award® and Rawlings Platinum Glove Award™, presented by SABR.

The SABR Defensive Index draws on and aggregates two types of existing defensive metrics: those derived from batted ball location-based data and those collected from play-by-play accounts. The three metrics representing batted ball data include Defensive Runs Saved from Baseball Info Solutions, Ultimate Zone Rating developed by noted sabermetrician Mitchel Lichtman, and Runs Effectively Defended based on STATS Zone Rating and built by SABR Defensive Committee member Chris Dial. The two metrics included in the SDI originating from play-by-play data are Defensive Regression Analysis, created by committee member Michael Humphreys, and Total Zone Rating.

The SABR Defensive Index accounts for approximately 25 percent of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award selection process that will be added to the votes from the managers and coaches.

Ahmed’s SDI of 15.2 is the highest in the game among all qualified defenders, ahead of St. Louis second baseman Kolten Wong (12.6) and Chicago shortstop Javier Baez (10.3). St. Louis shortstop Paul DeJong (9.7) and Philadelphia catcher J.T. Realmuto (9.4) round out the top five in the NL.

Chapman’s SDI of 13.0 leads all fielders in the AL, followed by Cleveland catcher Roberto Perez (11.9) and Tampa Bay shortstop Willy Adames (9.9). Minnesota center fielder Byron Buxton and Boston right fielder Mookie Betts are tied for fourth at 8.9.

The updated SDI results were released today by the Society for American Baseball Research.

The final SDI results will be released following the conclusion of the 2019 season at The SDI is compiled by the SABR Defensive Committee, which includes former SABR Board President Vince Gennaro; Sean Forman of; Ben Jedlovec, MLB’s Director of Engineering, Data Quality; SABR Director F.X. Flinn; author and defensive metrics expert Chris Dial; and author Michael Humphreys.

Here are the top 25 players in each League, through games of August 18, 2019:


AL leaders

Player Team Position SDI
Matt Chapman OAK 3B 13.0
Roberto Perez CLE C 11.9
Willy Adames TBR SS 9.9
Byron Buxton MIN CF 8.9
Mookie Betts BOS RF 8.9
Yolmer Sanchez CHW 2B 7.8
Marcus Semien OAK SS 7.8
Kevin Kiermaier TBR CF 6.3
DJ LeMahieu NYY 2B 6.1
Max Kepler MIN RF 6.1
Mike Zunino TBR C 6.0
Robbie Grossman OAK LF 5.8
Matt Olson OAK 1B 5.8
Billy Hamilton KCR CF 5.7
Alex Bregman HOU 3B 5.4
Yuli Gurriel HOU 1B 5.3
Marwin Gonzalez MIN 3B 5.1
Martin Maldonado HOU C 4.7
Danny Jansen TOR C 4.5
Mike Trout LAA CF 4.4
Adalberto Mondesi KCR SS 4.0
Niko Goodrum DET SS 4.0
Josh Reddick HOU RF 3.2
David Fletcher LAA 3B 3.2
James McCann CHW C 3.2


NL leaders

Player Team Position SDI
Nick Ahmed ARI SS 15.2
Kolten Wong STL 2B 12.6
Javier Baez CHC SS 10.3
Paul DeJong STL SS 9.7
J.T. Realmuto PHI C 9.4
Austin Hedges SDP C 9.2
David Peralta ARI LF 9.0
Cody Bellinger LAD RF 8.8
Trevor Story COL SS 8.2
Evan Longoria SFG 3B 7.0
Nolan Arenado COL 3B 6.9
Lorenzo Cain MIL CF 6.7
Jose Iglesias CIN SS 6.6
Brian Anderson MIA 3B 5.5
Christian Walker ARI 1B 5.5
Victor Robles WSN CF 5.2
Anthony Rizzo CHC 1B 5.2
Buster Posey SFG C 4.8
Miguel Rojas MIA SS 4.8
Hunter Renfroe SDP LF 4.6
Bryce Harper PHI RF 4.1
Joey Votto CIN 1B 3.8
Yadier Molina STL C 3.8
Corey Seager LAD SS 3.6
Joc Pederson LAD LF 3.5



To view full SDI rankings from the 2018 season, click here. To view the 2018 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners, click here.

The winners of 2018 Rawlings Platinum Glove Awards, presented by SABR, were Colorado third baseman Nolan Arenado and Oakland third baseman Matt Chapman. Click here to learn more about the Rawlings Platinum Glove Award, presented by SABR.


About SABR

The Society for American Baseball Research (SABR) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to fostering research and disseminating the history and record of baseball. Founded in 1971, SABR has more than 6,000 members worldwide and has established itself as a vibrant baseball community and a premier distributor of ground-breaking baseball information. SABR features more than 70 regional chapters and more than 30 research committees, and produces three annual publications — two editions of The Baseball Research Journal and The National Pastime — in addition to other print and e-books. SABR also hosts two annual events: the National Convention each summer and the SABR Analytics Conference in March in Phoenix. For more information about SABR, visit

About the Rawlings Gold Glove Award®

The Rawlings Gold Glove Award® is a registered trademark owned by Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. The award is correctly identified as the Rawlings Gold Glove Award. The name should not be shortened, abbreviated or otherwise misused. Proper identification of this service mark using the registration symbol and the Rawlings name is important to protect the integrity of the program and perpetuate this worthy tradition. For more information, please visit

About Rawlings

Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. is an innovative manufacturer and marketer of sporting goods worldwide. Founded in 1887, Rawlings is an authentic global sports brand, trusted by generations of athletes from the sandlot to the pros. Rawlings’ unparalleled quality and expert craftsmanship are the fundamental reasons why more athletes choose Rawlings, and why Rawlings is the Official Batting Helmet and Ball Supplier of Major League Baseball®, the official baseball of Minor League Baseball™ and the NCAA®, and the approved baseball, basketball, football and softball of the National High School Federation®. For more information, please visit or by call (314) 819-2800.

Originally published: August 22, 2019. Last Updated: August 22, 2019.