SABR Defensive Index

SABR Defensive Index rankings released through June 9, 2024

JUNE 14, 2024 — Texas second baseman Marcus Semien and Arizona second baseman Ketel Marte lead their respective leagues in the updated SABR Defensive Index™ rankings through Major League Baseball games of Sunday, June 9, 2024.

The SABR Defensive Index is used to help select the winners of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award® and Rawlings Platinum Glove Award™, presented by SABR.

The SDI draws on and aggregates two types of existing defensive metrics: those derived from batted ball location-based data and those collected from play-by-play accounts. SDI utilizes MLBAM’s Statcast, Sports Info Solutions data, and STATS Perform data as well as traditional statistics with advanced analysis.

The SABR Defensive Index accounts for approximately 25 percent of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award selection process that will be added to the votes from the managers and coaches.

Semien’s SDI of 9.7 is the highest in the AL among all qualified defenders, ahead of New York left fielder Alex Verdugo at 6.1 and Seattle catcher Cal Raleigh at 5.6. Baltimore shortstop Gunnar Henderson (5.3) and Toronto catcher Alejandro Kirk (5.3) round out the top five.

Marte’s SDI of 7.8 leads all fielders in the NL, followed by Pittsburgh center fielder Michael A. Taylor (6.8), Washington center fielder Jacob Young (5.5), San Francisco catcher Patrick Bailey (5.1), and Colorado shortstop Ezequiel Tovar (4.9).

The updated SDI results were released today by the Society for American Baseball Research.

The final SDI results will be released following the conclusion of the 2024 season at The SDI is compiled by the SABR Defensive Committee, which includes former SABR Board President Vince Gennaro; Sean Forman of; Mark Simon of Sports Info Solutions; Ben Jedlovec of Zelus Analytics; Tom Tango, MLB’s Senior Data Architect; author and defensive metrics expert Chris Dial; and author Michael Humphreys.

Here are the top 25 players in each League, through games of June 9, 2024:


AL leaders

Player Team Position SDI
Marcus Semien TEX 2B 9.7
Alex Verdugo NYY LF 6.1
Cal Raleigh SEA C 5.6
Gunnar Henderson BAL SS 5.3
Alejandro Kirk TOR C 5.3
Jose Trevino NYY C 5.2
Daulton Varsho TOR LF 5.0
Freddy Fermin KCR C 4.9
Carson Kelly DET C 4.8
Anthony Volpe NYY SS 4.0
Corey Seager TEX SS 3.8
Bobby Witt Jr. KCR SS 3.8
Jo Adell LAA RF 3.7
Jake Meyers HOU CF 3.7
Andrés Giménez CLE 2B 3.5
Wilyer Abreu BOS RF 3.3
Colton Cowser BAL LF 3.3
Juan Soto NYY RF 3.3
Christian Vázquez MIN C 3.3
Steven Kwan CLE LF 3.1
Griffin Canning LAA P 2.9
Isiah Kiner-Falefa TOR 3B 2.9
Vinnie Pasquantino KCR 1B 2.9
Ceddanne Rafaela BOS CF 2.9
Carlos Santana MIN 1B 2.8


NL leaders

Player Team Position SDI
Ketel Marte ARI 2B 7.8
Michael A. Taylor PIT CF 6.8
Jacob Young WSN CF 5.5
Patrick Bailey SFG C 5.1
Ezequiel Tovar COL SS 4.9
Blake Perkins MIL CF 4.5
Jackson Chourio MIL RF 4.3
Gavin Lux LAD 2B 4.3
Brice Turang MIL 2B 4.1
Jackson Merrill SDP CF 3.9
Christian Walker ARI 1B 3.7
Orlando Arcia ATL SS 3.5
Joey Gallo WSN 1B 3.4
Bryce Harper PHI 1B 3.4
Harrison Bader NYM CF 3.2
Brenton Doyle COL CF 3.0
Teoscar Hernández LAD RF 3.0
Michael Siani STL CF 2.9
Lourdes Gurriel Jr. ARI LF 2.6
Elias Díaz COL C 2.4
Michael Busch CHC 1B 2.2
Max Fried ATL P 2.2
Gabriel Moreno ARI C 2.2
Max Muncy LAD 3B 1.9
Joey Ortiz MIL 3B 1.7


About SABR

The Society for American Baseball Research (SABR) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to fostering research and disseminating the history and record of baseball. Founded in 1971, SABR has more than 7,500 members worldwide and has established itself as a vibrant baseball community and a premier distributor of ground-breaking baseball information. SABR features more than 80 regional chapters and more than 30 research committees, and produces three annual publications — two editions of The Baseball Research Journal and The National Pastime — in addition to other print and e-books. SABR also hosts two annual events: the National Convention each summer and the SABR Analytics Conference in March in Phoenix. For more information about SABR, visit

About the Rawlings Gold Glove Award®

The Rawlings Gold Glove Award® is a registered trademark owned by Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. The award is correctly identified as the Rawlings Gold Glove Award. The name should not be shortened, abbreviated, or otherwise misused. Proper identification of this service mark using the registration symbol and the Rawlings name is important to protect the integrity of the program and perpetuate this worthy tradition. For more information, please visit

About Rawlings

Established in 1887, Rawlings is an innovative leading global brand and manufacturer of premium baseball and softball equipment, including gloves, balls, and protective headwear. Rawlings’ unparalleled quality, innovative engineering and expert craftsmanship are the fundamental reasons why more professional athletes, national governing bodies and sports leagues choose Rawlings. Rawlings is the Official Baseball, Helmet, Face Guard and Glove of Major League Baseball, the Official Baseball of Minor League Baseball and the Official Baseball and Softball of the NCAA and the NAIA.  The company is headquartered in St. Louis. For more information, please visit

Originally published: June 14, 2024. Last Updated: July 17, 2024.