SABR Women in Baseball Committee announces nominees for inaugural Dorothy Seymour Mills Lifetime Achievement Award

Earlier this year, SABR’s Women in Baseball Committee established the Dorothy Seymour Mills Lifetime Achievement Award — “The Dorothy” — named in honor of Dorothy Seymour Mills and her lifetime of contributions to promoting women’s baseball.

Here are the nominees for the inaugural 2018 award, which will be presented at the committee’s annual meeting at SABR 48 next summer in Pittsburgh:

  • Perry Barber
  • Ila Borders
  • Barbara Gregorich
  • Rachelle “Rocky” Henley
  • Edith Houghton
  • Effa Manley
  • Penny Marshall
  • Margaret Nabel
  • David Nemec
  • Alex Sickinger Oglesby
  • Susan Perabo
  • Justine Siegal
  • Janet Marie Smith
  • Ashley Stephenson
  • Ina Eloise Young

Eligible candidates include any person with a sustained involvement in women’s baseball or any woman with a longtime involvement in baseball in any fashion — player, umpire, writer, executive, team owner, scout, etc. Candidates do not have to be living; it can be awarded posthumously. Self-nominations are accepted.

For more information on the award, click here. To learn more about baseball historian Dorothy Seymour Mills’s life and career, click here.


Originally published: December 18, 2017. Last Updated: December 18, 2017.