Vote to select SABR’s 2013 Overlooked 19th Century Base Ball Legend

Hello all SABR members!

It is time to hold our annual vote for the Overlooked 19th Century Base Ball Legend award.

Each year, SABR’s Nineteenth Century Research Committee selects its Overlooked 19th Century Baseball Legend — a 19th century player, manager, executive or other baseball personality not yet inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York.

In the past, only members of the committee voted for this award. Last summer, the project committee leaders decided that all SABR members should join in the fun.

Past winners of the award are Pete Browning (2009), Hall of Fame electee Deacon White (2010), Harry Stovey (2011) and Bill Dahlen (2012).

The voting is simple:

  1. Before voting, please review the ballot to learn more about the 10 finalists who are not yet in the Hall of Fame: Doc Adams, Ross Barnes, Bob Caruthers, Jim Creighton, Jack Glasscock, Paul Hines, Dummy Hoy, Bobby Mathews, Tony Mullane and Al Reach. Click here to download a PDF with bios for the 10 finalists
  2. Go online to vote in the election:
  3. Rank your top 5.

Here’s the fine print:

  • All ballots must be cast by 12:00 a.m. PT on June 24, 2013.
  • You may only vote once.
  • You MUST vote for five candidates or your ballot will not count.

Results will be announced on Thursday, August 1, 2013 during the annual business meeting of the Nineteenth Century Committee to be held during SABR 43 in Philadelphia, PA.

Thank you for participating!

The Overlooked 19th Century Base Ball Legends Project Committee
Joe Williams, Chair; Adam Darowski; Charles Faber; Bob Gregory; Ralph Peluso

Originally published: June 6, 2013. Last Updated: June 6, 2013.