SABR 45: Committee meetings

Research presentations Schedule of events Committee meetings
Poster presentations Featured speakers Vendors Room
Information Photo galleries #SABR45 on Twitter

 

Here is the schedule for research committee meetings at SABR 45 — June 24-28, 2015, at the Palmer House Hilton in Chicago.

Click a link below to listen to selected audio highlights from our special guest speakers:

 

ASIAN BASEBALL
Rob Fitts, meeting chair (robertfitts@verizon.net)
Guest speaker: Masanori Murakami, first Japanese player in major-league history
Saturday, June 27, 4:00 p.m., Grand Ballroom, 3rd floor 

BALLPARKS
Kevin Johnson, co-chair (kjokbaseball@yahoo.com)
Ron Selter, co-chair (rselter@att.net)
Guest speaker: Stuart Shea, author of Wrigley Field: An Unauthorized History and Calling the Game
Friday, June 26, 6:30 p.m., Salon 12 Room, 3rd floor

BASEBALL AND THE ARTS
Joanne Hulbert, co-chair (jhulbert@earthlink.net)
Saturday, June 27, 4:00 p.m., Salon 12 Room, 3rd floor

BASEBALL INDEX PROJECT
Andy McCue, chair (agmccue44@earthlink.net)
Friday, June 26, 7:30 p.m., State Ballroom, 4th floor

BASEBALL AND THE MEDIA
Chuck Hildebrandt, chair (chuck.sabr@gmail.com)
John McMurray, vice-chair (Mcmurrayj@aol.com)
Guest speaker: Christina Kahrl, ESPN.com baseball editor
Friday, June 26, 6:30 p.m., State Ballroom, 4th floor

BASEBALL RECORDS
Lyle Spatz, chair (lspatz@comcast.net)
Trent McCotter, vice-chair (treant985@gmail.com)
Friday, June 26, 8:30 p.m., State Ballroom, 4th floor

BIOGRAPHICAL RESEARCH
Bill Carle, chair (bbxpert@aol.com)
Friday, June 26, 8:30 p.m., Salon 12 Room, 3rd floor

BIOPROJECT
Mark Armour, director (markarmour04@gmail.com)
Saturday, June 27, 7:30 a.m., State Ballroom, 4th floor

BLACK SOX SCANDAL 
Jacob Pomrenke, chair (buckweaver@gmail.com)
Guest speaker: Peter Alter, archivist, Chicago History Museum
Friday, June 26, 6:30 p.m., Salon 3 Room, 3rd floor

BUSINESS OF BASEBALL
Michael Haupert, co-chair (mhaupert@uwlax.edu)
Steven Weingarden, co-chair (steveweingarden@gmail.com)
Friday, June 26, 3:00 p.m., Salon 12 Room, 3rd floor

COLLEGIATE BASEBALL
Karl Green, chair (atlcrackersfan@gmail.com)
Saturday, June 27, 8:00 a.m., Salon 12 Room, 3rd floor

DEADBALL ERA (1901-19)
John McMurray, chair (deadball@sabr.org)
Guest speakers: Dr. Charles Alexander, acclaimed author and 2011 Henry Chadwick Award recipient; Nathaniel Grow and Chuck Kimberly, 2015 Larry Ritter Award winners
Friday, June 26, 7:30 p.m., Salon 12 Room, 3rd floor

EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES
Herb Wilson, co-chair (whwilson@colby.edu)
Friday, June 26, 7:30 p.m., Salon 3 Room, 3rd floor

GAMES AND SIMULATIONS
Steve Krevisky, chair (sakrevisky@sbcglobal.net)
Saturday, June 27, 4:00 p.m., Salon 3 Room, 3rd floor

LATINO BASEBALL
Anthony Salazar, chair (salazar8017@yahoo.com)
Saturday, June 27, 6:00 p.m., State Ballroom, 4th floor

MINOR LEAGUES
Joe Wancho, co-chair (jw2462@sbcglobal.net)
Wednesday, June 24, 6:00 p.m., State Ballroom, 4th floor

NEGRO LEAGUES
Larry Lester, co-chair (larrylester42@gmail.com)
Guest speakers: Panelists from SABR 45 Negro Leagues Panel
Saturday, June 27, 5:00 p.m., State Ballroom, 4th floor

NINETEENTH CENTURY
Peter Mancuso, chair (peterplus4@earthlink.net)
Bob Bailey, vice-chair (bobbailey@cox.net)
Friday, June 26, 3:00 p.m., State Ballroom, 4th floor

ORAL HISTORY
John McMurray, chair (sabroralhistorycommittee@gmail.com)
Saturday, June 27, 4:00 p.m., State Ballroom, 4th floor

PICTORIAL HISTORY
T. Scott Brandon, co-chair (t_scott_brandon@msn.com)
Mark Fimoff, co-chair (bmarlowe@comcast.net)
Cary Smith, co-chair (zinnbeck@aol.com)
Saturday, June 27, 6:00 p.m., Salon 3 Room, 3rd floor

RETROSHEET
David W. Smith, president (dwsmith@retrosheet.org)
Saturday, June 27, 6:00 p.m., Salon 12 Room, 3rd floor

SCIENCE AND BASEBALL
Eric Van, chair (emvan@post.harvard.edu)
Wednesday, June 24, 7:00 p.m., State Ballroom, 4th floor

SCOUTS
Rod Nelson, chair (rodericnelson@gmail.com)
Friday, June 26, 3:00 p.m., Salon 3 Room, 3rd floor

STATISTICAL ANALYSIS
Phil Birnbaum, chair (birnbaum@sympatico.ca)
Saturday, June 27, 5:00 p.m., Salon 12 Room, 3rd floor

WOMEN IN BASEBALL
Leslie Heaphy, co-chair (lheaphy@kent.edu)
Guest speakers: Panelists from SABR 45 Women in Baseball Panel
Friday, June 26, 3:15 p.m., Grand Ballroom, 3rd floor (immediately following panel discussion)

 

For more coverage of SABR 45, visit SABR.org/convention.

This page was last updated September 1, 2016 at 3:11 pm MST.