SABR 47: Committee meetings

Here is the schedule for research committee meetings at SABR 47 — June 28-July 2, 2017, at the Grand Hyatt New York.

Committee meetings are open to all convention attendees.

Full registration and single-day rates are now available at SABR.org/convention. All baseball fans are welcome to attend.

BALLPARKS
Ron Selter, co-chair (rselter@att.net)
Friday, June 30, 8:00 a.m., Empire State Ballroom

BASEBALL AND THE ARTS
Joanne Hulbert, co-chair (jhulbert@earthlink.net)
Saturday, July 1, 2:15 p.m., Alvin & Carnegie Room

BASEBALL CARDS
Mark Armour, co-chair (markarmour04@gmail.com)
Chris Dial, co-chair (pfeiffer86@gmail.com)
Saturday, July 1, 10:30 a.m., Empire State Ballroom
* Guest speaker: Keith Olbermann, a longtime SABR member, author, and award-winning sports and political commentator

BASEBALL INDEX PROJECT
Andy McCue, chair (agmccue44@earthlink.net)
Thursday, June 29, 1:45 p.m., Alvin & Carnegie Room

BASEBALL AND THE MEDIA
Chuck Hildebrandt, chair (chuck.sabr@gmail.com)
John McMurray, vice-chair (mcmurrayj@aol.com)
Saturday, July 1, 5:15 p.m., Empire State Ballroom
* Guest speaker: Alain Usereau, French-language play-by-play broadcaster for RDS network in Canada

BASEBALL RECORDS
Trent McCotter, chair (treant985@gmail.com)
Saturday, July 1, 4:15 p.m., Empire State Ballroom
* Guest speakers: David S. Neft, a Henry Chadwick Award recipient and the driving force behind Macmillan's The Baseball Encyclopedia, who will participate in a one-on-one interview with MLB Official Historian John Thorn

BIOGRAPHICAL RESEARCH
Bill Carle, chair (bbxpert@aol.com)
Friday, June 30, 8:00 a.m., Broadway Room

BIOPROJECT
Rory Costello, co-director (rcostello@nyc.rr.com)
Gregory H. Wolf, co-director (ghwolf1967@gmail.com)
Saturday, July 1, 5:15 p.m., Alvin & Carnegie Room

BLACK SOX SCANDAL
Jacob Pomrenke, chair (buckweaver@gmail.com)
Saturday, July 1, 5:15 p.m., Ballroom I

BUSINESS OF BASEBALL
Michael Haupert, co-chair (mhaupert@uwlax.edu)
Steven Weingarden, co-chair (steveweingarden@gmail.com)
Saturday, July 1, 7:00 a.m., Ballroom I

COLLEGIATE BASEBALL
Karl Green, chair (atlcrackersfan@gmail.com)
Saturday, July 1, 7:00 a.m., Empire State Ballroom

DEADBALL ERA (1901-19)
John McMurray, chair (deadball@sabr.org)
Saturday, July 1, 4:15 p.m., Ballroom I
* Guest speaker: Glenn Stout, this year's Larry Ritter Book Award winner for The Selling of the Babe: The Deal that Changed Baseball and Created a Legend. After accepting his award, Glenn will discuss his research and writing methods in a talk titled "Writing the Past to Life." He is glad to answer questions from the audience and to sign any copies of his books brought by attendees.

EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES
Herb Wilson, co-chair (whwilson@colby.edu)
Friday, June 30, 8:00 a.m., Alvin & Carnegie Room

GAMES PROJECT
Bruce Slutsky, co-chair (bruce@bruceslutsky.com)
Len Levin, co-chair (lenlevin5@hotmail.com)
Thursday, June 29, 1:45 p.m., Broadway Room

GAMES AND SIMULATIONS
Joseph Runde, co-chair (josephrunde@gmail.com)
Matt Benham, co-chair (matt1964@sbcglobal.net)
Saturday, July 1, 10:30 a.m., Alvin & Carnegie Room
* Guest speaker: Keith Avallone of PLAAY.com Sports Simulation Board games

LATINO BASEBALL
Anthony Salazar, chair (salazar8017@yahoo.com)
Thursday, June 29, 1:45 p.m., Ballroom I
* Guest speakers: Peter C. Bjarkman, a Henry Chadwick Award recipient and expert on Cuban baseball history, and Cuban journalist Reynaldo Cruz, editor of the Universo Béisbol digital magazine. Join us for a showing of Unidos por una Pasión, a new film by Cruz and Yasel Porto. Orlando “El Duque” Hernández and José Martí ... the New York Cubans and Rey Ordóñez ... the Industriales and the New York Yankees as the most loved and hated teams in their leagues. Two big cities in two baseball-crazed nations have more in common than just being the top holder in titles in their respective countries. Join us for a sneak preview of this new film with special guest Orlando "El Duque" Hernández (subject to availability).

MINOR LEAGUES
Joe Wancho, co-chair (jw2462@sbcglobal.net)
Thursday, June 29, 7:30 a.m., Ballroom I

NEGRO LEAGUES
Larry Lester, chair (larrylester42@gmail.com)
Saturday, July 1, 2:15 p.m., Empire State Ballroom
* Guest speaker: Jim Robinson, three-time East-West All-Star Game selection (1956-58) and former captain of the Kansas City Monarchs

NINETEENTH CENTURY
Peter Mancuso, chair (peterplus4@earthlink.net)
Bob Bailey, vice-chair (bobbailey@cox.net)
Saturday, July 1, 2:15 p.m., Broadway Room

OFFICIAL SCORING
Stew Thornley, chair (stew@stewthornley.net)
Thursday, June 29, 7:30 a.m., Alvin & Carnegie Room

ORAL HISTORY
John McMurray, chair (sabroralhistorycommittee@gmail.com)
Saturday, July 1, 2:15 p.m., Uris/Juilliard Room
* Guest speaker: Tom Villante, batboy for the 1944 and 1945 New York Yankees under manager Joe McCarthy; producer of Brooklyn Dodgers TV and radio broadcasts from 1950-57; creator of the Major League Baseball Promotion Corporation; and founding director of the Jackie Robinson Foundation. Join us for this unique live oral history and the opportunity to learn from someone who spent decades observing and knowing many of baseball's greats.

PICTORIAL HISTORY
Cary Smith, co-chair (zinnbeck@me.com)
Saturday, July 1, 6:15 p.m., Alvin & Carnegie Room

RETROSHEET
David W. Smith, president (dwsmith@retrosheet.org)
Friday, June 30, 8:00 a.m., Ballroom I

SCIENCE AND BASEBALL
Eric Van, chair (emvan@post.harvard.edu)
Saturday, July 1, 4:15 p.m., Alvin & Carnegie Room

STATISTICAL ANALYSIS
Phil Birnbaum, chair (birnbaum@sympatico.ca)
Saturday, July 1, 2:15 p.m., Ballroom I

WOMEN IN BASEBALL
Leslie Heaphy, co-chair (lheaphy@kent.edu)
Thursday, June 29, 1:45 p.m., Empire State Ballroom
* Guest speakers: Claire Smith, acclaimed baseball writer and 2017 J.G. Taylor Spink Award recipient and Perry Barber, pioneering baseball umpire, author, and musician

Please note: Some committees have not yet scheduled their meetings at SABR 47. Please check this page for future updates.

For more information on SABR 47, visit SABR.org/convention.

This page was last updated May 19, 2017 at 4:20 pm MST.