SABR 49: Committee meetings

Research presentations Schedule of events Committee meetings
Poster presentations Featured speakers Vendors Room
Information Photo galleries #SABR49 on Twitter

 

Here is the schedule for research committee meetings at SABR 49 — June 26-30, 2019, at the Manchester Grand Hyatt hotel in downtown San Diego. Committee meetings are open to all convention attendees.

Click on a link below to learn more about SABR's research committees.

 

ASIAN BASEBALL
Bill Staples Jr., co-chair (billstaplesjr@gmail.com)
Thursday, June 27, 6:15 p.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom

BALLPARKS
Ron Selter, co-chair (rselter@att.net)
Thursday, June 27, 6:45 p.m., Seaport F Ballroom

BASEBALL AND THE ARTS
Joanne Hulbert, co-chair (jhulbert49@gmail.com)
Saturday, June 29, 4:30 p.m., Seaport F Ballroom

BASEBALL AND THE MEDIA
John McMurray, vice-chair (mcmurray.john@gmail.com)
Saturday, June 29, 5:30 p.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom
* Guest speaker: Steve Klein, professor emeritus at George Mason University and veteran journalist on “How Hugh Fullerton Created an Ethical Impulse in Sports Writing.”

BASEBALL CARDS
Mark Armour, visiting chair (markarmour04@gmail.com)
Friday, June 28, 2:00 p.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom
* Guest speaker: Rob Fitts, award-winning author and historian whose work focuses on the history of U.S.-Japan baseball relations, including books Mashi (2015), Banzai Babe Ruth (2012), Wally Yonamine (2008), and Remembering Japanese Baseball (2005).

BASEBALL INDEX PROJECT
Andy McCue, chair (agmccue44@earthlink.net)
Thursday, June 27, 6:15 p.m., Seaport F Ballroom

BASEBALL RECORDS
Trent McCotter, chair (trent.mccotter@gmail.com)
Thursday, June 27, 3:10 p.m., Seaport F Ballroom
* Guest speaker: Herm Krabbenhoft, award-winning author and historian, on Ty Cobb's RBI record

BIOPROJECT
Warren Corbett, visiting chair (wpcorbett@hotmail.com)
Saturday, June 29, 7:00 a.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom

BLACK SOX SCANDAL
Jacob Pomrenke, chair (buckweaver@gmail.com)
Thursday, June 27, 3:10 p.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom
* Guest speakers: Panel discussion on the 100th anniversary of the 1919 World Series, with Jacob Pomrenke, editor of Scandal on the South Side: The 1919 Chicago White Sox; Rick Huhn, author of Eddie Collins: A Baseball Biography; Bill Felber, author of Under Pallor, Under Shadow: The 1920 American League Pennant Race That Rattled and Rebuilt Baseball; and Bruce Allardice, Black Sox Scandal researcher and Professor of History at South Suburban College near Chicago.

BUSINESS OF BASEBALL
Michael Haupert, co-chair (mhaupert@uwlax.edu)
Steven Weingarden, co-chair (steveweingarden@gmail.com)
Saturday, June 29, 10:25 a.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom
* Guest speaker: Roberta J. Newman, author of Here's the Pitch: The Amazing, True, New, and Improved Story of Baseball and Advertising.

COLLEGIATE BASEBALL
Karl Green, chair (atlcrackersfan@gmail.com)
Saturday, June 29, 7:00 a.m., Seaport F Ballroom

DEADBALL ERA (1901-19)
John McMurray, chair (deadball@sabr.org)
Saturday, June 29, 4:30 p.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom
* Guest speaker: Norman Macht, who will be comparing Connie Mack and John McGraw as managers during the Deadball Era. He is the author of an award-winning, three-volume biography of Hall of Fame manager Connie Mack and, most recently, They Played the Game: Memories from 47 Major Leaguers.

EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES
Herb Wilson, co-chair (whwilson@colby.edu)
Allison Levin, co-chair (allison.levin@gmail.com)
Friday, June 28, 8:00 a.m., Seaport F Ballroom

GAMES PROJECT
Mike Huber, chair (huber@muhlenberg.edu)
Friday, June 28, 8:00 a.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom

LATINO BASEBALL
Anthony Salazar, chair (salazar8017@yahoo.com)
Friday, June 28, 2:00 p.m., Seaport F Ballroom

MINOR LEAGUES
George Pawlush, chair (george.pawlush@wilkes.edu)
Friday, June 28, 2:00 p.m., Seaport G Ballroom

NEGRO LEAGUES
Larry Lester, chair (larrylester42@gmail.com)
Friday, June 28, 4:30 p.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom

NINETEENTH CENTURY
Peter Mancuso, chair (peterplus4@earthlink.net)
Bob Bailey, vice-chair (bobbailey@cox.net)
Saturday, June 29, 10:25 a.m., Seaport F Ballroom

OFFICIAL SCORING
Stew Thornley, chair (stew@stewthornley.net)
Thursday, June 27, 7:30 a.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom
* Guest speaker: Bill Zavestoski, who has scored more than 1,500 San Diego Padres games since 1984. He also has worked as a statistician for the radio announcing crews at San Diego Chargers and San Diego State University football games. He is the sports editor for Patch in San Diego County and a former senior content producer for SignOnSanDiego.com.

ORAL HISTORY
John McMurray, chair (sabroralhistorycommittee@gmail.com)
Saturday, June 29, 2:15 p.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom

RETROSHEET
David W. Smith, president (dwsmith@retrosheet.org)
Friday, June 28, 8:30 a.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom

SCIENCE AND BASEBALL
Eric Van, chair (emvan@post.harvard.edu)
Saturday, June 29, 2:15 p.m., Seaport F Ballroom

STATISTICAL ANALYSIS
Phil Birnbaum, chair (birnbaum@sympatico.ca)
Friday, June 28, 4:30 p.m., Seaport F Ballroom

WOMEN IN BASEBALL
Leslie Heaphy, co-chair (lheaphy@kent.edu)
Thursday, June 27, 3:10 p.m., Seaport G Ballroom
* Guest speakers: The winner of the 2019 Dorothy Seymour Mills Lifetime Achievement Award will be announced.

UMPIRES AND RULES
Perry Barber, co-chair (umpireplb@aol.com)
Saturday, June 29, 5:30 p.m., Seaport F Ballroom

 

For more information on SABR 49, or to register, visit SABR.org/convention.