SABR 49: Committee meetings

Research presentations Schedule of events Committee meetings
Poster presentations Featured speakers Vendors Room
Information Photo galleries #SABR49 on Twitter

 

Here is the schedule for research committee meetings at SABR 49 — June 26-30, 2019, at the Manchester Grand Hyatt hotel in downtown San Diego. Committee meetings are open to all convention attendees.

Click on a link below to learn more about SABR's research committees or to listen to highlights from the meeting at SABR 49 (where available).

 

Rob FittsASIAN BASEBALL
Bill Staples Jr., co-chair (billstaplesjr@gmail.com)
Thursday, June 27, 6:15 p.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom
* Guest speakers: Rob Fitts on "Finding Naito" and John Carvalho on "The Masanori Murakami Debacle". Click here to listen to the audio recording (MP3; 42:14)

BALLPARKS
Ron Selter, co-chair (rselter@att.net)
Thursday, June 27, 6:45 p.m., Seaport F Ballroom

BASEBALL AND THE ARTS
Joanne Hulbert, co-chair (jhulbert49@gmail.com)
Saturday, June 29, 4:30 p.m., Seaport F Ballroom

BASEBALL AND THE MEDIA
John McMurray, vice-chair (mcmurray.john@gmail.com)
Saturday, June 29, 5:30 p.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom
* Guest speaker: Steve Klein, professor emeritus at George Mason University and veteran journalist on “How Hugh Fullerton Created an Ethical Impulse in Sports Writing.”

BASEBALL CARDS
Mark Armour, visiting chair (markarmour04@gmail.com)
Friday, June 28, 2:00 p.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom
* Guest speaker: Rob Fitts, award-winning author and historian whose work focuses on the history of U.S.-Japan baseball relations, including books Mashi (2015), Banzai Babe Ruth (2012), Wally Yonamine (2008), and Remembering Japanese Baseball (2005). Click here to listen to the audio recording (MP3; 44:24)

BASEBALL INDEX PROJECT
Andy McCue, chair (agmccue44@earthlink.net)
Thursday, June 27, 6:15 p.m., Seaport F Ballroom

Herm KrabbenhoftBASEBALL RECORDS
Trent McCotter, chair (trent.mccotter@gmail.com)
Thursday, June 27, 3:10 p.m., Seaport F Ballroom
* Guest speaker: Herm Krabbenhoft, award-winning author and historian, on Ty Cobb's RBI record. Click here to listen to the audio recording (MP3; 57:48)

BIOPROJECT
Warren Corbett, visiting chair (wpcorbett@hotmail.com)
Saturday, June 29, 7:00 a.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom

BLACK SOX SCANDAL
Jacob Pomrenke, chair (buckweaver@gmail.com)
Thursday, June 27, 3:10 p.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom
* Guest speakers: Panel discussion on the 100th anniversary of the 1919 World Series, with Jacob Pomrenke, editor of Scandal on the South Side: The 1919 Chicago White Sox; Rick Huhn, author of Eddie Collins: A Baseball Biography; Bill Felber, author of Under Pallor, Under Shadow: The 1920 American League Pennant Race That Rattled and Rebuilt Baseball; and Bruce Allardice, Black Sox Scandal researcher and Professor of History at South Suburban College near Chicago. Click here to view photos and listen to highlights.

Roberta NewmanBUSINESS OF BASEBALL
Michael Haupert, co-chair (mhaupert@uwlax.edu)
Steven Weingarden, co-chair (steveweingarden@gmail.com)
Saturday, June 29, 10:25 a.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom
* Guest speaker: Roberta J. Newman, author of Here's the Pitch: The Amazing, True, New, and Improved Story of Baseball and Advertising. Click here to listen to the audio recording (MP3; 50:38) — Newman's talk begins at the 18:55 mark.

COLLEGIATE BASEBALL
Karl Green, chair (atlcrackersfan@gmail.com)
Saturday, June 29, 7:00 a.m., Seaport F Ballroom

Norman MachtDEADBALL ERA (1901-19)
John McMurray, chair (deadball@sabr.org)
Saturday, June 29, 4:30 p.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom
* Guest speaker: Norman Macht, who will be comparing Connie Mack and John McGraw as managers during the Deadball Era. He is the author of an award-winning, three-volume biography of Hall of Fame manager Connie Mack and, most recently, They Played the Game: Memories from 47 Major Leaguers. Click here to listen to the audio recording (MP3; 44:46)

EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES
Herb Wilson, co-chair (whwilson@colby.edu)
Allison Levin, co-chair (allison.levin@gmail.com)
Friday, June 28, 8:00 a.m., Seaport F Ballroom

GAMES PROJECT
Mike Huber, chair (huber@muhlenberg.edu)
Friday, June 28, 8:00 a.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom

LATINO BASEBALL
Anthony Salazar, chair (salazar8017@yahoo.com)
Friday, June 28, 2:00 p.m., Seaport F Ballroom

MINOR LEAGUES
George Pawlush, chair (george.pawlush@wilkes.edu)
Friday, June 28, 2:00 p.m., Seaport G Ballroom

NEGRO LEAGUES
Larry Lester, chair (larrylester42@gmail.com)
Friday, June 28, 4:30 p.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom

NINETEENTH CENTURY
Peter Mancuso, chair (peterplus4@earthlink.net)
Bob Bailey, vice-chair (bobbailey@cox.net)
Saturday, June 29, 10:25 a.m., Seaport F Ballroom

OFFICIAL SCORING
Stew Thornley, chair (stew@stewthornley.net)
Thursday, June 27, 7:30 a.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom

Steve GarveyORAL HISTORY
John McMurray, chair (sabroralhistorycommittee@gmail.com)
Saturday, June 29, 2:15 p.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom
* Guest speaker: Steve Garvey, who hit arguably the most iconic home run in San Diego Padres history and was a fan favorite in the National League during his 19-season career. Click here to view photos and listen to highlights.

RETROSHEET
David W. Smith, president (dwsmith@retrosheet.org)
Friday, June 28, 8:30 a.m., Seaport A/B Ballroom

SCIENCE AND BASEBALL
Eric Van, chair (emvan@post.harvard.edu)
Saturday, June 29, 2:15 p.m., Seaport F Ballroom

STATISTICAL ANALYSIS
Phil Birnbaum, chair (birnbaum@sympatico.ca)
Friday, June 28, 4:30 p.m., Seaport F Ballroom

WOMEN IN BASEBALL
Leslie Heaphy, co-chair (lheaphy@kent.edu)
Thursday, June 27, 3:10 p.m., Seaport G Ballroom

UMPIRES AND RULES
Perry Barber, co-chair (umpireplb@aol.com)
Saturday, June 29, 5:30 p.m., Seaport F Ballroom

 

For more coverage of SABR 49, visit SABR.org/convention.