SABR 50 convention in Baltimore

SABR 50: Committee Meetings

Here is the schedule for research and functional committee meetings at SABR 50 — August 17-21, 2022, at the Hyatt Regency Inner Harbor in Baltimore. Committee meetings are open to all convention attendees.

Click on a link below to learn more about SABR’s research committees.

ASIAN BASEBALL
Rob Fitts, visiting chair (robertfitts@verizon.net)
Saturday, August 20, 10:00 a.m., Constellation D Ballroom
*Guest speakers: Rob Fitts on the 1956 Brooklyn Dodgers Tour of Japan and Adam Berenbak on “100 Years On: A Centennial Review of Herb Hunter’s 1922 Tour of Japan”

BALLPARKS
Kevin Johnson, co-chair (kjokbaseball@yahoo.com)
Saturday, August 20, 2:30 p.m., Constellation A/B Ballroom
*Guest speakers: Former Baltimore Orioles president Larry Lucchino and acclaimed ballpark design director Janet Marie Smith will talk about the construction and design of Camden Yards, which set the standard for a new wave of ballparks after its opening in 1992. Click here to learn more.

BASEBALL AND THE ARTS
Joanne Hulbert, co-chair (jhulbert49@gmail.com)
Jay Hurd, co-chair (jayh0912@gmail.com)
Thursday, August 18, 3:00 p.m., Lombard/Camden Ballroom

BASEBALL LANDMARKS
Mark Armour, visiting chair (markarmour04@gmail.com)
Thursday, August 18, 11:00 a.m., Lombard/Camden Ballroom

BASEBALL AND THE MEDIA
Chuck Hildebrandt, visiting chair (chuck.sabr@gmail.com)
Friday, August 19, 4:00 p.m., Constellation A/B Ballroom
*Guest speakers: Joe Castiglione, play-by-play voice of the Boston Red Sox Radio Network; Kevin Brown, Baltimore Orioles primary television play-by-play announcer for MASN; Moderator: Chuck Hildebrandt, visiting chair of the Baseball and the Media Committee.

BASEBALL MEMORIES
Barry Mednick, visiting chair (bmednick@roadrunner.com)
Jeff Hubbard, visiting chair (drjeffreyhubbard@gmail.com)
Friday, August 19, 4:00 p.m., Constellation E Ballroom

BASEBALL RECORDS
Trent McCotter, chair (trent.mccotter@gmail.com)
Saturday, August 20, 3:30 p.m., Constellation D Ballroom
*Guest speakers: Herm Krabbenhoft and Thomas Thress

BLACK SOX SCANDAL
Jacob Pomrenke, chair (buckweaver@gmail.com)
Thursday, August 18, 3:00 p.m., Calvert/Pratt Ballroom

BIOGRAPHICAL RESEARCH
Bill Carle, chair (bbxpert@aol.com)
Saturday, August 20, 9:00 a.m., Constellation D Ballroom
*Guest speaker: Paul Scimonelli on super-scout Joe Cambria

BUSINESS OF BASEBALL
Mike Haupert, co-chair (mhaupert@uwlax.edu)
Dan Levitt, co-chair (dan@danlevitt.com)
Saturday, August 20, 1:00 p.m., Constellation A/B Ballroom

COLLEGIATE BASEBALL
Karl Green, chair (atlcrackersfan@gmail.com)
Friday, August 19, 8:00 a.m., Constellation D Ballroom

DEADBALL ERA
John McMurray (deadball@sabr.org)
Friday, August 19, 12:00 p.m., Constellation D Ballroom

EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES
Allison Levin, chair (allison.levin@gmail.com)
Friday, August 19, 2:00 p.m., Constellation D Ballroom

GAMES PROJECT
Bill Nowlin, visiting chair (bill.nowlin@rounder.com)
Friday, August 19, 1:00 p.m., Constellation D Ballroom

GAMES AND SIMULATIONS
Mark Wendling, visiting chair (mwendlingremote@shaw.ca)
Leslie Heaphy, visiting chair (lheaphy@kent.edu)
Thursday, August 18, 11:00 a.m., Charles Ballroom (3rd floor)

LATINO BASEBALL
Leslie Heaphy, visiting chair (lheaphy@kent.edu)
Saturday, August 20, 3:30 p.m., Constellation A/B Ballroom
*Film screening: Baltimore and Cuba: From Babe Ruth to César Prieto.
Baltimore and Cuba have had more connections than the ones people may think when talking about great players form the past like Mike Cuéllar or Willie Miranda, or the two-game friendly series held between both teams in 1999. Before the revolution, there were teams from Baltimore visiting Havana to play, and the most iconic player ever born in the city, Babe Ruth, spent a few days in November 1920 capturing the attention of Cuban baseball fans. This documentary intends to show some of the things that have drawn Baltimore and Cuba closer together.

MINOR LEAGUES
George Pawlush, chair (george.pawlush@wilkes.edu)
Friday, August 19, 9:00 a.m., Constellation D Ballroom

NINETEENTH CENTURY
Peter Mancuso, chair (peterplus4@earthlink.net)
Bob Bailey, vice-chair (bobbailey@cox.net)
Thursday, August 18, 12:00 p.m., Calvert/Pratt Ballroom

ORAL HISTORY
John McMurray, chair (sabroralhistorycommittee@gmail.com)
Friday, August 19, 2:00 p.m., Constellation E Ballroom

RETROSHEET
Tom Thress, chair (tthress@retrosheet.org)
Saturday, August 20, 4:30 p.m., Constellation D Ballroom

SPRING TRAINING
David Krell, chair (david@davidkrell.com)
Thursday, August 18, 11:00 a.m., Calvert/Pratt Ballroom

STATISTICAL ANALYSIS
Phil Birnbaum, chair (110phil@gmail.com)
Friday, August 19, 3:00 p.m., Constellation D Ballroom
*Guest speaker: Vinay Kumar, “Talent Differential: The Balance of Talent Across the NL and AL”

WOMEN IN BASEBALL
Leslie Heaphy, co-chair (lheaphy@kent.edu)
Friday, August 19, 12:00 p.m., Constellation A/B Ballroom
*Guest speaker: Melissa Ludtke on “Moms + Daughters, Baseball, Equality”
Baseball lore tells us that love for the game passes from father to son. Melissa’s mother birthed her with baseball’s DNA in her blood, and at the age of 27, as a baseball reporter for Sports Illustrated, she won an equal access federal court lawsuit against Major League Baseball that forced Commissioner Bowie Kuhn to open the clubhouse doors to women writers. She is working on a book titled Locker Room Talk: A Woman’s Struggle to Get Inside.


To go back to the SABR 50 convention main page, click here.

For more information, or to register for the SABR 50 convention in Baltimore, visit SABR.org/convention.

© SABR. All Rights Reserved