SABR 52 convention logo

SABR 52: Committee Meetings

Here is the schedule for research and functional committee meetings at SABR 52 — August 7-11, 2024, at the Hyatt Regency hotel in downtown Minneapolis, Minnesota. Committee meetings are open to all convention attendees.

Click on a link below to learn more about SABR’s research committees.


ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE/MACHINE LEARNING
Brian Hall, co-chair (hall@nyu.edu)
Allison Levin, co-chair (allison.levin@gmail.com)
Friday, August 9, 5:00 p.m., Great Lakes A

ASIAN BASEBALL
Rob Fitts, visiting chair (robertfitts@verizon.net)
Saturday, August 10, 5:00 p.m., Great Lakes A
*Guest speaker: J.R. Wildridge

BALLPARKS
Kevin Johnson, co-chair (kjokbaseball@yahoo.com)
Friday, August 9, 4:00 p.m., Great Lakes B/C
*Guest speaker: ballparks photographer Bob Busser

BASEBALL AND THE ARTS
Joanne Hulbert, co-chair (jhulbert49@gmail.com)
Jay Hurd, co-chair (jayh0912@gmail.com)
Friday, August 9, 3:00 p.m., Bemidji Ballroom
(This committee is also co-hosting The Diamond King film screening at 3:00 p.m. Saturday.)

BASEBALL CARDS
Jason Schwartz, co-chair (jason.1969@yahoo.com)
Nick Vossbrink, co-chair (nick@vossbrink.net)
Thursday, August 8, 3:00 p.m., Bemidji Ballroom
(This committee is also co-hosting The Diamond King film screening at 3:00 p.m. Saturday.)

BASEBALL LANDMARKS
John Racanelli, chair (j.racanelli@hotmail.com)
Thursday, August 8, 1:00 p.m., Great Lakes A
*Guest speaker: Stew Thornley, “Historical Baseball Sites in the Twin Cities”

BASEBALL MEMORIES
Joe Shaw, co-chair (rjshaw2@cox.net)
Anne Enos, co-chair (anne.enos@cox.net)
Thursday, August 8, 1:00 p.m., Bemidji Ballroom

BASEBALL RECORDS
Herm Krabbenhoft, visiting chair (bqr9343@aol.com)
Friday, August 9, 8:00 a.m., Great Lakes B/C
*Guest speaker: Herm Krabbenhoft

BLACK SOX SCANDAL
Jacob Pomrenke, chair (buckweaver@gmail.com)
Thursday, August 8, 4:00 p.m., Bemidji Ballroom

BIOGRAPHICAL RESEARCH
Bill Carle, chair (bbxpert@aol.com)
Friday, August 9, 11:00 a.m., Bemidji Ballroom

BIOGRAPHY PROJECT (BIOPROJECT)
Alan Cohen, visiting chair (adc0317@comcast.net)
Friday, August 9, 12:00 p.m., Great Lakes A

BUSINESS OF BASEBALL
Mike Haupert, co-chair (mhaupert@uwlax.edu)
Dan Levitt, co-chair (dan@danlevitt.com)
Thursday, August 8, 4:00 p.m., Great Lakes A

COLLEGIATE BASEBALL
Karl Green, chair (atlcrackersfan@gmail.com)
Friday, August 9, 8:00 a.m., Great Lakes A

DEADBALL ERA
John McMurray (deadball@sabr.org)
Saturday, August 10, 4:00 p.m., Great Lakes A

GAMES PROJECT
John Fredland, chair (johnfredland@gmail.com)
Friday, August 9, 8:00 a.m., Bemidji Ballroom

GAMES AND SIMULATIONS
Mark Wendling, co-chair (mwendlingremote@shaw.ca)
Derek Bain, co-chair (derekbain21@gmail.com)
Thursday, August 8, 1:00 p.m., Great Lakes B/C
*Guest speaker: Don Daglow, pioneering video game designer

LATINO BASEBALL
Anthony Salazar, chair (salazar8017@yahoo.com)
Saturday, August 10, 3:00 p.m., Great Lakes B/C
*Guest speakers: The Diamond King film screening with Dick Perez and Marq Evans, co-hosted with Baseball Cards Committee and Baseball and the Arts Committee

MINOR LEAGUES
George Pawlush, chair (george.pawlush@wilkes.edu)
Friday, August 9, 1:00 p.m., Great Lakes B/C
*Guest speakers: St. Paul Saints Panel with Derek Sharrer, Sierra Bailey, Tom Whaley, Liz Fedor

NINETEENTH CENTURY
Bob Bailey, co-chair (bobbailey@cox.net)
Peter Mancuso, co-chair (peterplus4@earthlink.net)
Jon Popovich, co-chair (jayz43_1b@yahoo.com)
Thursday, August 8, 2:00 p.m., Bemidji Ballroom

PICTORIAL HISTORY
Cary Smith, chair (zinnbeck@me.com)
Saturday, August 10, 12:00 p.m., Great Lakes A
*Guest speaker: Gary Livacari, on the Boston Public Library’s Leslie Jones Baseball Collection

RETROSHEET
Tom Thress, chair (tthress@retrosheet.org)
Friday, August 9, 4:00 p.m., Great Lakes A

STATISTICAL ANALYSIS
Phil Birnbaum, chair (110phil@gmail.com)
Friday, August 9, 5:00 p.m., Great Lakes B/C
*Guest speaker: Vinay Kumar

WOMEN IN BASEBALL
Leslie Heaphy, co-chair (lheaphy@kent.edu)
Friday, August 9, 12:00 p.m., Great Lakes B/C
*Guest speaker: Melissa Ludtke, “Extra Innings: On 2nd and Heading Home”


To go back to the SABR 52 convention main page, click here.